Boondock Living

Ok, so I’m not really out in the boondocks.  But I’m definitely not living in the city.  You drive past a lot of fields and farms to get to my house.  I wake up and have goats, cattle and corn (or wheat depending on the season) to the North, and cattle to the East, West & South of me.  I literally have goats and calves in my front & backyard.  For a while I had a goat in my backyard, too.  It was always my dream to be able to live in a house one day where I could wake up, look out my window and see the sunrise just beyond the corn.  And my dream has come true!  I didn’t really account for all of the flies, spiders & rodents that came with the territory of living in the country…but I do get beautiful sunrises and sunsets every day.

Because of the previously mentioned bugs & rodents, I often take country living for granted.  The view is now my norm and I forget that not everyone has the blessing of living in wide open spaces.  It’s quiet and peaceful out where I live.  And although I have days where I wish that I were closer to civilization (mostly a mall and Starbucks), I do love living out here.

I figured that in today’s blog post I would share a few pictures of some of the things I see when I walk outside my house.  Enjoy a piece of ranch life!

A calf in our front pasture

A calf in our front pasture

A tractor in the field across from our house.  This field was full of corn the day before the picture was taken.

A tractor in the field across from our house. This field was full of corn the day before the picture was taken.

This is a calf bottle...used to feed calves milk, of course.  I discovered that it works as a great teething toy for Thomas!

This is a calf bottle…used to feed calves milk, of course. I discovered that it works as a great teething toy for Thomas!

Sunrise on the calf ranch

Sunrise on the calf ranch

 

These are our goats in our front pasture - they're pretty silly!

These are our goats in our front pasture – they’re pretty silly!

 

Respond to this Post

