2 Samuel 22 Memory Verse

2 Samuel 22:31-34The other day I was doing my devotions and I was reading My Utmost for His Highest by Oswald Chambers.  The scripture verse reference was found in 2 Samuel and after reading the verse for the day I decided to flip backward a page in my Bible.  I saw this verse underlined:

“This God — his way is perfect;  the word of the LORD proves true;  he is a shield for all those who take refuge in him.  For who is God, but the LORD?  And who is a rock, except our God?  This God is my strong refuge and has made my way blameless.  He made my feet like the feet of a deer and set me secure on the heights.”  -2 Samuel 22:31-34

In that moment, those words struck me.  “This God…”  MY God.  He’s MY father in Heaven – the Creator of the universe.  His word proves true over and over again.  He is a shield, he is a rock and he is a strong refuge.  I was just overwhelmed with the sense that I get to know him and not only that, but that he knows me.  He knitted me together in my mother’s womb, he created my inmost being (Psalm 139:13)

I loved being reminded of God’s faithfulness through this verse and so I decided that it was worth engraving in my memory.  From September 1-15, I am memorizing these words because the word of the LORD proves true and I want this in my mind and on my heart.

 

 

Respond to this Post

