Beef & Broccoli

I have no shame when I say this:  I gained 50 lbs. when I was pregnant.  5-0.  To be totally honest, I didn’t look at the scale during my pregnancy…ever.  Not at any of my doctor appointments, not at home…never.  I didn’t really want to know.  So I didn’t know…until my last doctor appointment.  I figured I’d only gained like 35 or something…the “normal” weight gain.  But I gained more than the “normal” and my son only weighed 7 lbs. 4 oz. when he was born, so you can do the math on how much weight was left on my body afterward!  Anyway, I wanted to get back to my pre-baby weight.  Heck, I don’t just want to get back to my pre-baby weight, I want to be stronger and fitter than my pre-baby weight.

So I think it’s safe to say that I am currently on a fit kick.  I’m working out daily – sometimes by myself and sometimes with Phil.  I love working out with Phil.  I’m not very good at pushing myself when I’m alone, so on days when my workouts are hard, I like to have him workout with me.  Plus, it’s good spouse bonding 😉  And I’m also eating healthy.  Healthy mostly means that I’m trying not to drink so many carbs (I love soda & Starbucks) and I’m trying to snack on fruits and veggies more (I hate veggies!).

I’ve found that it’s tough to eat healthy meals sometimes because there’s really a lot of prep work that can go into eating healthy AND I have a hard time finding healthy dinners that don’t have super weird ingredients!  So I’m going to be sharing recipes when I find them because I love it when people post awesome recipes that they’ve found!

I made Beef & Broccoli the other night and it’s a great recipe because a) FEED ME BEEF…duh. and b) I made it in the Crockpot.  I love, love, LOVE using my Crockpot.  On busy days, all I have to do is toss the ingredients in and when dinner time rolls around, I have this amazing dish and my house smells so good.

Here’s the recipe:

Crockpot Beef & Broccoli

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 lbs. thinly sliced steak (I used Sirloin Steak – but any cut is fine)
  • 2 cups beef broth
  • 1/2 cup soy sauce
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon minced garlic
  • 1 Tablespoon sesame oil
  • 2 cups broccoli florets
  • 2 cups white or brown rice

DIRECTIONS

  1. Put steak in bottom of Crockpot.  Mix broth, soy sauce, brown sugar, garlic & sesame oil in a bowl.  Pour over beef.  Cook on low for 5-6 hours.
  2. 30 minutes prior to serving, add broccoli to crockpot.  Stir together and cook 30 minutes in crockpot.
  3. In the meantime, cook the rice according to the rice directions.
  4. Serve beef & broccoli over the rice.  Enjoy!

What are some of your favorite healthy beef recipes?  I’d love to hear them!

 

Signature Final

One thought on “Beef & Broccoli

Respond to this Post

