Interruptions

I’ve lived on the ranch for about a month and a half now.  The flying cockroaches have seemed to disappear thanks to the hot weather’s arrival.  I am getting settled into the house and I enjoy going on evening bike rides with Phil and our dog, Cooper.  And one of my favorite parts about ranch life is that the sunsets always seem to be ridiculously, mind-blowingly beautiful.

photo(6)

A lesson that I’ve been learning on the ranch is that there will be interruptions – whether they are interruptions to my sleep or my favorite TV show, there will be interruptions.

A couple of weeks ago, Phil & I got home from a date night and did a quick drive around the ranch to make sure that all looked good with the calves before we went home to bed.  Toward the end of our drive I noticed a group of about 7 calves just standing around outside of their corral.  (That is not normal, in case you are wondering.)  We drove a little bit further and noticed a LOT of calves roaming around the ranch.  Not good.

While you might be thinking that it sounds good for calves to be able to roam around, it is.  However, it is good for them to roam around within the boundaries (corrals) that they are given.  The corrals keep them safe from harm’s way.  It’s like letting a baby crawl everywhere without watching them.  It’s ok for a baby to crawl everywhere – if it is in an area that is “child-proof.” Non child-proof areas require that the child is attended to when crawling about.  Same concept for calves – the corrals are “calf-proof.”  The rest of the ranch is not necessarily calf-proof, especially when there is no one to watch them.

So, calves roaming.  It turned out one of the corrals had been left open.  Phil & I were out until midnight rounding up the calves and putting them back in their play pen (corral.)

My second interruption happened a few nights ago as I was enjoying a lazy evening to myself.  I was in my neon pink yoga pants, doing Pinterest crafts while catching up on this season of The Bachelorette.  (Did that sentence just sound super girly or what?!)  The smell of fresh-baked banana bread wafted through the house and I was pretty pumped to eat some once my episode was over.  Then, as Des was on her last date for the episode, I heard Phil call my name.

Calves were out again.  Phil did give me an option of helping him, but if I didn’t help him, what kind of “Heels To BOOTS” person would I be?  A terrible one.  So, I threw on my boots (with my neon pink yoga pants), jumped in my car, drove to the shop building, and hopped on a mule to help in the search for loose calves.  It took about an hour, but by the end of it, the calves were all safely in their place again.

Interruptions.  Some people tell me this is good preparation for having kids some day and being…interrupted by them.  Others tell me it’s just plain old good character building.  I agree with both, but really to me, it’s just a small glimpse of what other farmers and ranchers around the world deal with.  It doesn’t matter what time of day it is, what show is on, what event is happening, if the animals need to be fed, helped or taken care of, you can bet that a farmer or rancher will drop whatever they are doing to take care of the situation.  And if you don’t believe me, check out my friend Crystal Cattle, who fed cattle with her husband in the middle of a friend’s wedding!

Neon + Boots. I think it's a new trend.

Neon + Boots.
I think it’s a new trend.

Until the next interruption… 😉

Signature Final

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Interruptions

  1. Becca

    We spent about 2 hours today trying to work calves so I feel your pain. They are definitely more challenging than adult cattle! Thankfully it was mid-day and not midnight (though I’m sure that day will come).

    Reply

Respond to this Post

