Nicoise Salad

I often wonder what it would be like if I happened to be a married woman in the time era of “B.P.” – which, in case you are wondering, stands for “Before Pinterest.”  I plan all of my meals for the week either on Saturday or Sunday so that I can go grocery shopping for the week and (hopefully) not have to go back to the store until the following Saturday or Sunday.  Plus, it helps me keep track of the food items that are in my pantry and refrigerator because I buy specifically for the upcoming week’s menu.  Anyway, whenever I plan my meals for the week I go straight to Pinterest for guidance.  It allows me to be creative with trying new things, and it usually gives me a pretty picture to look at so I have an idea of what it should look like when I set the meal on the table.

Many times I pick a meal because of it’s “pretty factor.”  I’m very much a person who looks at aesthetics of things, especially my food.  Even if something might not taste good, if it looks pretty, the odds of me trying to recreate the recipe go way up.  Such happened with the following recipe that I found from The Gouda Life…it was pretty.  It tasted pretty good, too!  But it reeled me in with its pretty factor.

nicoise

Nicoise Salad – Serves 2

adapted from The Gouda Life
2 big handfuls green beans, trimmed
1 cup cherry or grape tomatoes
2 cups boiled baby potatoes (red)
1/2 cup Nicoise-style olives
hard boiled eggs
2 cans white (albacore), water packed tuna, flaked
Romaine or Boston Lettuce

So, the original recipe is for 4, but since I just made 2 salads, I changed the recipe up a little bit.  I also left out certain things that she put in her salad, mostly because I had no idea what the ingredients were!

First you’ll boil the green beans for about a minute until they turn bright green.  Then, drain the green beans & pour them over ice in a medium-sized bowl.  Let them sit there to cool. 

Then boil baby potatoes until cooked.

Place a handful of lettuce in the middle of a plate.  Surround the lettuce with olives, green beans, potatoes, tomatoes & eggs.  Place 1 can of tuna in the middle, on top of the salad.  Top with balsamic vinaigrette dressing.  Enjoy!

A side note is that this is probably one of the most filling salads I have ever eaten in my entire life!  You will definitely not be hungry after this.

Signature Final

Respond to this Post

