Steak & Melon Salad with Spicy Lime Dressing

Ever since I married my husband, the picky eater in me seemed to vanish and was replaced with a more adventurous eater.  I don’t want you to be fooled, I still don’t like Thai food, I have a major fat-phobia when it comes to my food and there is still plenty of room for vegetables in my diet.  However, I can honestly say that I’ve branched out more in my eating habits since saying “I do.”

Last night’s dinner was no exception.  I think I found this recipe on Pinterest, I’m not positive though.  The thought of pairing steak and melon in a salad seemed absolutely absurd to me.  But then the adventurous eater in me said, “You should try it.  The weirder, the better.”  So, try it, I did.

steak salad

And I have to say, it was quite tasty.  And I felt fancy.  And the food on my plate looked pretty.  And I like pretty.  So, since it passed my Tasty-Fancy-Pretty test (I just made that up, I have no such test) I figured I’d share the recipe with you.

Steak & Melon Salad with Spicy Lime Dressing

Ingredients

  • 2 Rib-eye steaks, fat trimmed
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/2 large red onion, chopped into rings
  • 6 tablespoons lime juice
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 4 teaspoons olive oil
  • 2 teaspoons paprika
  • 1 teaspoon crushed red pepper
  • 1/2 cantaloupe, peeled, seeded and cut into small wedges
  • Salad (I use pre-packaged spring leaf mix)

Preparation

  1. Preheat a lightly oiled pan over medium-high heat.  Sprinkle steak with salt and pepper; grill with onion.  Turn onion after about 4 minutes, and steak after about 7 minutes, or until meat is medium rare.  (Cook longer, if you would like a more well-done steak)  Transfer meat and onion to a cutting board; let rest 5 minutes before slicing steak.
  2. In a small bowl, combine honey, lime, olive oil, paprika, and crushed red pepper; stir.  Set dressing aside.
  3. Slice steak; arrange on platter with cantaloupe, onions, and salad; drizzle with dressing.

Bon apetit.

Signature Final

 

 

One thought on “Steak & Melon Salad with Spicy Lime Dressing

Respond to this Post

