Beth Moore Siesta Scripture Verse #3

Back at the beginning of January I decided to partake in a scripture memory verse challenge through Beth Moore’s blog.  Basically, you learn a new verse twice a month.  One on the 1st of the month and the second on the 15th of the month.  I’m only one month in, but I’ve really enjoyed it so far.  My husband is doing such an awesome job of letting me say my verses to him over and over again, and in the meantime, he’s evening memorizing them a bit himself!  (Side note:  if you’d like to memorize scripture verses, it’s not too late to join in on the fun.  Check out the Living Proof Ministry Blog for further instructions and details!)

It’s also been cool to see how these verses have been applicable to things that are going on in my life, or a friend’s life or a family member’s life to where I’m able to say, “Hey, here’s this verse that I want to share with you because I think that it’s got the perfect words for what is happening right now.”  So it’s been really cool!  I’ve pretty much just picked the last 2 verses at random, but this month’s first verse I came across during my church’s Bible study.  We’re currently doing the “Law of Love” series by Beth Moore based on the book of Deuteronomy.

This verse caught my eye because I love verses that talk about passing on who God is from generation to generation.  Someday when I have kids, I want my kids to know and love God the way that I’ve grown up doing so.  I want Him to be their God just as He has been my God.  So, that’s a really big prayer of mine for the generations that will follow after me and I just love verses that involve children!  That was the first reason that I chose this verse and the second reason was that our pastor spoke about fearing God and no one and no thing else.  If we truly fear God, and only God then that means that we are putting Him first in our lives and we are truly giving Him all glory and honor.  The first part of this verse is God saying that He wants His people to fear Him.  I thought that was so cool!  This verse tied two things together that I had heard about in Bible study and church last week.  So that’s why I decided on this verse.  I hope that you will be blessed by it!

Deuteronomy VerseTo check out the verses that I’ve memorized so far, check these links out:

January 1-14:  1 Peter 1:24

January 15-31:  Isaiah 61:3b

BB

 

One thought on “Beth Moore Siesta Scripture Verse #3

  1. Pingback: Siesta Scripture Memory Verse #4 | From Heels to Boots

Respond to this Post

