Oaks of Righteousness

On January 1st, I talked about some of my New Year Resolutions.  I’m happy to say that so far, I feel like I’m doing a decent job at staying on the right track.  I’ve heard before that if you do something for 30 days straight (or something like that) that it will become a habit.  We’ll test that theory!

But anyway, one of my resolutions was to participate in Beth Moore’s 2013 Siesta Scripture Memory Team.  I successfully completed my memory verse for January 1-14 and now I’m on to my second verse!  The verse that I chose to memorize for January 15-31 is found in the book of Isaiah, chapter 61 and the first part of verse 3.  “To bestow on them a crown of beauty instead of ashes, the oil of joy instead of mourning, and a garment of praise instead of a spirit of despair.  They will be called oaks of righteousness, a planting for the LORD for the display of his splendor.”

oak

I picked this verse specifically because of what the second sentence of this verse says,  “They will be called oaks of righteousness, a planting for the LORD for the display of his splendor.”  I don’t know about you, but sometimes I have a tendency to think that things are all about me.  Sometimes I’m so focused on what I’m wearing or on the words that I’m speaking or whatever because I’m concerned with how it will make me appear to other people.  “…a planting for the LORD for the display of HIS SPLENDOR.”  

Hello!  Everything that we do, everything that we say, everything that we think should be done with the display of God’s glory in our minds.  When we live for God we receive blessings like getting to live lives of beauty, joy and praise instead of ashes, mourning and despair.  In turn though, our praise should be for Him and our joy and beauty should come from Him.  So, I just thought that it was such a good reminder for myself that all of the blessings that I receive in life come from Him and as a response of my gratitude, I should focus on living my life in a way that God’s splendor, majesty and glory is displayed for the whole world to see.

4 thoughts on “Oaks of Righteousness

    1. fromheelstoboots Post author

      Aw, thank you! The beautiful thing about agriculture (I’ve come to learn) is that the people involved in it are so welcoming to us city folk, so if you ever want to pursue your organic farm dream, there are plenty of people who would love to help answer your questions. City girls are welcome! 🙂

      Reply
  1. Pingback: Beth Moore Siesta Scripture Verse #3 | From Heels to Boots

  2. Pingback: Siesta Scripture Memory Verse #4 | From Heels to Boots

Respond to this Post

