Prepare the Way

highwayThis picture was taken somewhere in the High Desert of California when my husband and I were headed to spend a snowy weekend in Big Bear with his family.  I remember looking out and just feeling like we were absolutely positively in the middle of nowhere.  In a way, we were.  But I thought that it would still make for a cool picture, so I snapped a quick pic. 🙂

A brief background on the verse in the picture: the first few verses of Isaiah 40 are written to the Israelite people who were in captivity.  They are verses of consolation to the people telling them that they have received grace from the Lord.  Verse 3 is referring to the path of freedom, the “highway of God” that his people would travel through so that they would be delivered.

To be honest, I picked this verse randomly because it went well with the scenery in my photo, but as I continued to read chapter 40, I realized that verses 6-8 of this chapter are the verses that I am memorizing for my Jan. 1-15 Scripture Memory Verse!  Check it out:

“A voice says, “Cry out.”
    And I said, “What shall I cry?”

“All people are like grass,
    and all their faithfulness is like the flowers of the field.
The grass withers and the flowers fall,
    because the breath of the Lord blows on them.
    Surely the people are grass.
The grass withers and the flowers fall,
    but the word of our God endures forever.””   -Isaiah 40:6-8

“4 For,

“All people are like grass,
    and all their glory is like the flowers of the field;
the grass withers and the flowers fall,
25     but the word of the Lord endures forever.”-1 Peter 1:24-25a

Although we may not be captives, I think that it is cool to think about us being the instruments that can be used to prepare the way for God in this time that we live in.  Someday God will come to deliver [from hurt, from pain, from sickness, from this tough life on earth] those who believe in Him and take them to glory forever, and we can be the ones who make straight the highway for our God.

Amen.

 

One thought on “Prepare the Way

  1. Shelly

    We can absolutely prepare the way by living our lives for Him. By walking out our faith and letting others see Christ in us. Thanks for the post and a new way to view this verse!

    Reply

Respond to this Post

