Uncharted Territory

A couple of weeks ago I went skiing for the very first time in my life with my husband and his family.  Since that experience, I’ve enjoyed telling people the story of “The First Time I Tried to Ski.”  If you have ever learned to ski or snowboard, then you’ll probably be able to identify with my tale.  It goes something like this:

Somewhere in between the top & the bottom of the mountain...

Somewhere in between the top & the bottom of the mountain…

One sunny day, my husband, his siblings & I  took the ski lift up to the top of the mountain and I was feeling so anxious about having to get off of the lift.  My husband and brother-in-law calmly explained to me that the lift would bring me right up to the snow and then I just needed to put my feet on the ground and stand up.  It sounded easy enough.  So sure enough, the lift brought us to the snow, I put my feet on the ground, stood up…and fell flat on my face and popped one of my skis off.  We were off to a good start!  Just kidding.

Once I was up again, we made our way over to the starting point of the mountain and when I looked down, that’s all I saw:  down.  It probably wasn’t that steep, but for me this was uncharted territory and I was freaked out.  But I had made it up in my mind that I was going to try this ski thing out.  So I listened to the directions that my brother-in-law gave me and tried it out.  Only to fall over and over and over again.  It took me about an hour to ski my way down the mountain.  Half-way down the mountain, after a fall, I looked up at my husband and said “I just…need to sit for a minute!”  And then I proceeded to start crying.  With a smile on his face, my husband encouraged me and told me that I was doing so good for my first ski trip!

It’s not that I didn’t believe him, but no matter how sweet and uplifting my husband and his family were, all I could see was the mountain.  And I continued to be overwhelmed because I could never see the bottom of the mountain.  All I wanted was the end of the mountain.  I wanted to stop falling and I wanted to be a good skier like all of the other people whizzing past me and I wanted to know what I was doing and where I was going!

Eventually, I made it to the bottom.  My husband and brother-in-law stayed by my side and continued to encourage me and pick me up after every fall that I took.  And I made it!  The best part was that once I made it to the bottom, I got to go sit at the lodge and eat a big juicy cheeseburger.

Maybe you have felt similar to me when learning to ski, or perhaps it was when you were learning to snowboard.  Maybe this story just relates to something that you’re walking through in life now: you’re facing a big mountain and the end of it is nowhere to be seen.  For me, getting down the mountain was so totally not easy, but with the help of my brother-in-law and husband, I made it down the mountain eventually.  Whatever trials we face in this lifetime might not be easy by any means, but with the help and strength of God, we will make it down the mountain.

The best part is that when we finish this life on earth we have something way better than a lodge with a juicy cheeseburger waiting for us!  We can look forward to living in eternal glory with our Heavenly Father!  In my post today, I wanted to give you a good giggle with my ski story and encourage you with the fact that this life only lasts but a short while (just like my rough ski run) and that at the end of it all, we’ve got so much to look forward to through the death of Jesus Christ.  Amen!

“Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous hand.”  -Isaiah 41:10

“But let me reveal to you a wonderful secret.  We will not all die, but we will all be transformed!  It will happen in a moment, in the blink of an eye, when the last trumpet is blown.  For when the trumpet sounds, those who have died will be raised to live forever.  And we who are living will also be transformed.  For our dying bodies must be transformed into bodies that will never die; our mortal bodies must be transformed into immortal bodies.  Then, when our dying bodies have been transformed into bodies that will never die, this Scripture will be fulfilled:  ‘Death is swallowed up in victory.’”  -1 Corinthians 15:51-54

“So we don’t look at the troubles we can see now; rather, we fix our gaze on things that cannot be seen. For the things we see now will soon be gone, but the things we cannot see will last forever.”  -2 Corinthians 4:18

 

One thought on “Uncharted Territory

  1. Pingback: California Lovin’ | From Heels to Boots

Respond to this Post

