Things I’m Thankful For

Tomorrow is Thanksgiving.  Thanksgiving is my most favorite holiday of the year.  Much of that has to do with the fact that my family has the best traditions ever for Thanksgiving, therefore making it my favorite.  If you’ve been reading my blog since last year, you might remember that I wrote a two-part post on the fun that my family has during Thanksgiving.  Part one talked about some of the traditions that we have and part two expounded on one of those traditions, also known as “share time”.  I was so looking forward to Thanksgiving last year, just as I do every year.  But then the day before Thanksgiving something happened…we received the news that my grandpa had a severe form of leukemia.  He was rushed to Stanford for intense chemotherapy, and suddenly our Thanksgiving tradition was at a screeching halt.

But, having the awesome family that I have and living in the hope of eternity in heaven altogether through Jesus Christ, we pulled together last year.  We loaded ourselves and our Thanksgiving feast into our cars and all twenty-some of us headed 4 hours up north to Stanford to spend Thanksgiving together as a family.  And although last year’s Thanksgiving involved quite a few tears, it also involved a lot of joy, a lot of memories and a lot of thankfulness.

Last year, the Saturday after Thanksgiving, I went on date #1 with a very special man.  Our first date consisted of us going to my family’s calf ranch for a little tour and then we had enchiladas at my favorite restaurant in downtown Visalia.  Who knew that two and a half months after date #1, I’d be engaged to that special man?!  Six months later we got married.  And now, we’ve been married for almost 4 months!  And the cool part is that although Grandpa was still battling leukemia, he was able to be at our wedding.

Phil, Grandma, Grandpa & I on our wedding day

About a month and a half ago, Grandpa passed away and went home to be with the Lord.  This Thanksgiving is going to once again be one filled with tears, but also with a lot of joy.  It’ll be filled with memories, but a lot of thankfulness.  And so this year I’m thankful for a lot of things, but I’m especially thankful for these:

1.  My God.  This year I did a Bible study called “The Inheritance” and it was so cool to learn that I’m an heiress.  For those who called Jesus their Savior, we receive our inheritance of an eternal kingdom as well as the Holy Spirit.  We’re co-heirs with Jesus!  How crazy is that?!  I just feel really blessed that God chose to adopt me into his kingdom so that I could be called his daughter.  I’m thankful for his forgiveness, which I need often.  And I’m thankful that He truly gives us His peace and His strength when storms pass through our lives.

2.  My husband.  What a guy he is!  I won’t gush too much because he’ll probably be embarrassed and the rest of you would probably be annoyed, but he really is the best husband a girl could ever ask for.

3.  My grandpa.  The legacy that he’s left behind is awesome.  I think that my family is as close as we are because of the life that he lived, putting God first and his family second.  Along with my grandpa, I’m thankful for my entire family.  I often have a hard time explaining to people how close we are…mostly because people don’t understand.  Many people have good families and are close to their families, but my family is still different somehow.  We like to hang out with each other.  A lot.  And I love it.

God is good, all the time!  All the time, God is good!  Happy Thanksgiving everyone 🙂

“Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”  -1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

 

One thought on “Things I’m Thankful For

  1. An Irish Male In America

    Glad your Grandpa is in a better place and that you got to spend your wedding with him. Even though I was born and raised a Catholic Irish person, I’m now a non practicing Catholic. Personally I don’t care what a person believes in, once they do good with their lives, help others and don’t be a giant tool (to put it bluntly). I’m new to thanksgiving (tis an American tradition), but me, I’m thankful every day for the life I have, the friends I’ve met and the people who say I’ve brightened their day (I pay them well apparently). Thanks for sharing your story, it’s nice to know that you have faith and that it’s such a positive influence in your life. Happy Thanksgiving (or is that pre-thanksgiving?)

    Reply

Respond to this Post

