Grilled New York Steak with Garlic Marinade

Beef.  It’s my favorite thing to eat.  I grew up with a grandpa who made his living from the beef industry, buying and selling beef cattle.

I can remember back when I was a little girl, pulling up to my grandparents’ house and seeing my grandpa’s truck in the driveway with a bumper sticker that said, “BEEF…IT’S WHAT’S FOR DINNER.”  And it was, almost always, what was for dinner at Grandma & Grandpa’s house.  Roast, steak, burgers….beef.

When making steak, my two recent favorite things to use are sauces and marinades.  I think that they just magnify the juiciness of a steak, and really, what’s better than a juicy steak?!  Maybe a juicy steak at Disneyland, but besides that, a juicy steak is hard to beat!

In addition to beef, I love garlic.  Luckily this recipe involves both.

Let’s talk about our ingredients involved:

Greek yogurt, salt, garlic, lemon juicy, paprika, thyme & steak (not pictured)

To make the marinade, in a small bowl, mix one clove of garlic, lemon juice from one lemon, paprika, salt, yogurt & chopped thyme.  It’ll look a little something like this:

The marinade will end up looking similar to Thousand Island dressing, or In-N-Out’s “special sauce.”  If you’re living a state besides California, whenever you get the chance to visit California, go to In-N-Out!  I won’t take excuses.  And you’ll be glad that you did.

Back to steak, once you’ve got the marinade ready, place your two New Yorker’s in a gallon-sized plastic bag.

Now, brush both sides of the steak with marinade inside the bag, and then refrigerate for 1 hour.

Sorry, I wish I could have made the steaks & marinade inside the plastic bag look prettier… but I’m a youngin’ when it comes to food blogging and I couldn’t figure out how to make it look better.  But know that I tried!  Also, can you just take notice of all of the fresh vegetables to the right of the steak in the fridge?  Oh yeah…I eat my veggies!

Just kidding, I’m a terrible vegetable eater.  I always have those cut vegetables for my husband…who requested a while back that we ate more vegetables.  Every now and then I’ll grab a carrot, but my husband is the prime eater of vegetables in our house.  I’ll get there someday!

Once the steak has bathed in the marinade for an hour, place it on the grill.  Grill your steaks for about 7 minutes on each side.  Serve with pasta, rice, shrimp, salad, vegetables, bread…whatever your heart desires.  And enjoy it because remember, the only way this steak would be better is if you were eating it at Disneyland.

Cheers.

Ingredients

  • 6 oz Greek yogurt
  • 1 clove garlic
  • juice from 1 whole lemon
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 Tbsp ground paprika
  • 2 Tbsp fresh thyme
  • 2 New York steaks

Directions

  • Mix Greek yogurt, garlic, lemon juice, salt, paprika & thyme together in small bowl
  • Place steaks in gallon-sized plastic bag
  • Brush steaks with garlic marinade
  • Seal plastic bag & refrigerate for 1 hour
  • Grill steaks on each side for 7 minutes, or until desired done-ness.  7 minutes on each side will result in a medium-cooked steak.

 

4 thoughts on “Grilled New York Steak with Garlic Marinade

  1. Pingback: Greek lamb burger | Chocolate Spoon & The Camera

  2. Pingback: Greek lamb burger with cucumber raita, chili salsa, hummus and salad | Chocolate Spoon & The Camera

Respond to this Post

