DIY Halloween Yarn Wreath

I love fall.

There are no exceptions to that statement…ever.  I love the crisp breeze in the air (although, there hasn’t been much of that lately in this 80-90 degree weather we’ve been having!).  I love rustic, fall colors like brown, red and orange.  I love Thanksgiving.  I love pumpkin pie and pumpkin candles and Pumpkin Spiced Lattes from Starbucks.  Everything about fall is good.

So, despite the warm temperatures in California, I’ve been making sure that my house looks and feels like fall.  We’ve been having soup for dinner a little more often and pumpkins are slowly filling the empty spaces around the Belko Bungalow.  And in an attempt to add more fall decor, I made a fall craft the other day:  a yarn wreath!

I got the idea off of Pinterest – aka the craftiest place on earth.  Now, I’m no wreath maker, but this yarn wreath was simple to make.  And it’s pretty cute too, if you ask me!

My Halloween Yarn Wreath

Materials Needed:

  • black yarn
  • orange yarn
  • tacky glue
  • thin white ribbon
  • construction paper cut into 3 small triangles
  • markers, pens, stickers…whatever you prefer to use for the “BOO banner”
  • fake spider (my spider is sparkly…I had to mention that because you can’t tell from the picture!)
  • Styrofoam wreath

Instructions:

  1. Choose yarn color that you’d like to begin with.  Tie a tight double-knot around the wreath and begin tightly wrapping the yarn around the wreath until desired width with color.
  2. Repeat with the second color.
  3. Repeat the first step, alternating the yarn colors until the entire wreath is covered with yarn.
  4. Make the “BOO Banner” – stick, draw on “B” on first triangle, “O” on second and third triangles.
  5. Strand white ribbon through triangles.
  6. Tie one end of banner at about 11 o’clock on the wreath.  Tie opposite end of banner at about 1 o’clock on the wreath.
  7. Hang spider from black yarn wherever you prefer from the wreath.

Now you’ve got yourself a cute, spooky Halloween wreath!

 

One thought on “DIY Halloween Yarn Wreath

  1. Pingback: Halloween Wreath « Le Chic Elefant

Respond to this Post

