The Tale of An Almost Hippie

 

Yesterday, my husband and I were in Fresno running some errands.  Fresno is about 45 minutes north of where we live, and it also happens to be home to the nearest Trader Joe’s grocery store.  Before we headed back to our hometown, I asked Phil if we could please, oh please make a quick pit stop at Trader Joe’s.  Of course he said, “yes!”

So when we stopped, the first thing I did when I walked in was grab a fresh bouquet of flowers.  I love their fresh flowers!  Then I headed straight for the cinnamon swirl bread.  Have you ever tried that stuff?  If not, you should find the nearest Trader Joe’s and go buy some…right now.  Like, you can stop reading my blog to go purchase a loaf, I won’t even be offended!

We bought a few other items, and then we were on our way home.  As we left the store, I told Phil, “Man, Trader Joe’s just makes me so happy!”

Phil chuckled and said to me, “You’re kind of a hippie person.”  (That might not have been exactly what he said, but it was something to that effect.)  I thought about his comment for a moment, and then I agreed.  I agreed and then I proceeded to tell him about back in the day stories of when I dressed slightly bohemian/hippie-ish.  I told him stories about when I used to shop only at places like Whole Foods Market and Trader Joe’s because my internet research told me that only organic food was healthy for me.

My recent hippie-ness. I can’t find a picture of my true hippie days…it’s been a while!

And then I began working at my family’s calf ranch and began to experience where my food came from on a more personal level.  I know exactly where the beef that I eat comes from, because my family raises it!  And although we don’t farm any crop foods, working in agriculture has given me a direct link to a lot of people who do grow the other foods that I eat.

My boot-wearing side

Through my time in agriculture, I’ve learned that there are pros and cons to both conventional farming and organic farming.  In America, it’s important for us as consumers to realize how fortunate we are to have so many types of food options to choose from.  It’s also important that as American producers and consumers, we make an effort to remain united.

What I mean by, “united” is that we don’t let words such as organic and conventional divide us.  We’re all farmers working hard to produce food for the country, and for the world, for that matter.  The methods of which we farm are different from each other, yes, but our goal of feeding safe food to people remains the same.  As far as consumers are concerned, we have the absolute freedom and privilege to be able to eat whatever food we want!  It’s an awesome thing.  Eat what you’d like, and let your neighbor do the same…in peace.

I eat both organically grown foods and conventionally grown foods.  I’ll tell ya what, both taste pretty darn good if you ask me!  And although I was almost a full-time bare-footed, scraggly-haired, organic-food buying, hippie-ish girl, I’m thankful that  part of me is still that girl.  But I’m also thankful that the other part of me is a boot-wearing, hat-haired, conventionally-farmed-food buying, aggie-ish girl.  I’ve got the best of both worlds!  You should try it sometime, if you haven’t.  😉

The end.

 

4 thoughts on “The Tale of An Almost Hippie

  1. celeste settrini (@couturecowgirl7)

    great one Bri !!! I like you enjoy shopping at Trader Joes and Whole Foods – not because they are better but because I enjoy buying their yummy deserts and pre made salads. At Whole Foods I like their body wash, face creams and different make up choices ! we can have it ALL 🙂 or so I think

    Reply
  2. Marissa

    I really enjoy being able to pronounce all the ingredients in whatever I’m eating, so I figure farmed foods are all good, but when it comes to Twinkies… 🙂

    Reply

Respond to this Post

