Wedding Wednesday: The Cake Debate

I don’t like cake.  The only cake that I halfway like is cake from the box.  Like, Rainbow Chip or Funfetti cake.  Yes, I like those a lot, actually.

Phil isn’t a huge fan of cake either.  We both like sweets.  I think it’s safe to say on behalf of the both of us that we love chocolate, but cake just isn’t our temptress.

So then there’s this looming question when you’re getting hitched, but you don’t like cake.  I’ll call it “The Cake Debate.”

Do you have cake at your wedding, or do you skip it? 

I mean, cake is expensive.  Wedding cakes especially, and they usually don’t taste that great.  Whenever I’m at a wedding, if cake is offered, I never eat it.  Never.  Simply put, I think that cake = expensive + gross

But then there’s the other side to this debate:  cake is a tradition.  And some people really do like cake.  What about those momentous pictures of the bride and the groom cutting the cake?!  You can’t skip those!

What’s a bride to do?  Compromise.  So, compromise is exactly what we’re doing!  We’re having a cake, but not a huge cake.  A cake big enough to cut and give us those great pictures that we’ll be able to put in an album and show our children someday years down the road…but a cake small enough to keep our pockets from being emptied and our freezer from being stocked with more leftover cake than we’d ever want to eat.

Ah yes, compromise is a beautiful thing.  Now, do we have any cake flavor suggestions out there?  We’re all ears!

Our cake topper. “B” for Belko!

5 thoughts on “Wedding Wednesday: The Cake Debate

  1. Marissa

    I’m not much of a cake eater either! Everyone thinks I’m crazy. I too am a big fan of Rainbow Chip/FunFetti…and that’s about it in the cake category. Glad I’m not the only one!

    Reply
    1. fromheelstoboots Post author

      You’re definitely not alone! My favorite (not healthy) thing to do is to just buy the Rainbow Chip frosting & save it for a day when I feel like I need a “pick me up.” And when I do need a little uplifting somethin’-somethin’, I pull out a spoon & eat the frosting straight from the can 🙂

      Reply
  2. Wiebke

    What about cupcakes or cake pops? Or does that not solve the cake debate either? It looks pretty though on a dessert table. My hubs and I thought it is kinda ridiculous to spend all that money on cake so we just gave a talented friend money for ingredients and she baked us a small three-tiered cake with frosting in our wedding colors and a few shell ornaments made of white chocolate. Our wedding was very ‘DIY’ so the not-so perfect cake fit very well with our ‘rustic beach’ theme.

    Reply
    1. fromheelstoboots Post author

      Phil did request a cake as that is the traditional thing to do, which I’m totally fine with! So, since we’re going with a small cake, I’m planning on doing a “Dessert Bar” with different dessert selections. We’ll have cake pops, brownies, cookies & other desserts for everyone to choose from. I like your thinking though, Wiebke! I think you & are going to get along quite fabulously 🙂

      Reply
  3. Crystal Cattle

    I’ve also seen some couples do pie. I think you’ll definitely want to have something to cut on that day. We did a small cake for us to cut, and then cake balls for all our guests, and had the cow sprinkle pretzel sticks on the table as the wedding favor.

    The wedding you wore to your shower was very pretty.

    Reply

Respond to this Post

