Beef Month: Baked Spaghetti Dish

I’m excited to share with you one of my favorite go-to recipes as a part of beef month.  I got this recipe from a friend who got it from a friend who got it from a friend who got it from her mom…did you get that?  Oh well, it doesn’t matter.  Just know that it’s been passed on to a lot of different people as it quickly becomes a favorite when people try it.  Which usually is a good indication that it’s good!

Today we’re talking about Baked Spaghetti.  Now, I’m not a big fan of regular spaghetti, but somehow, once the spaghetti is baked, it becomes more than okay.  Here’s your list of ingredients:

You’ll need some shredded cheese, cottage cheese, sour cream, spaghetti sauce, ground beef and spaghetti noodles.

Now, before you turn up your nose at the mention of “cottage cheese” being put in your spaghetti, just keep your nose on level ground with me for a minute.  I scoffed at the notion of cottage cheese in my spaghetti, but my doubts were quickly silenced once I put the first forkful in my mouth!  Give the cottage cheese a chance, will ya?

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

Boil the spaghetti noodles exactly how you would if you were making a regular ol’ pot of spaghetti.  Boil the noodles in hot water until cooked…you know the drill.

At the same time, you’ll want to brown some ground beef in a pan until thoroughly cooked through.  Once the meat has been browned, combine it in a mixing bowl with spaghetti sauce, cottage cheese and sour cream.

I tried to make a pattern, pre-combining of the ingredients. Cool, huh?

Once mixed together, spread the meat layer in a 9×13 pan.

Once the meat layer has been put down, strain your spaghetti noodles and spread the noodles on top of the meat layer.  You’ll top the noodle layer with a plethora of shredded cheese.  Don’t skimp on the cheese!

See the three layers?  Meat, noodles, cheese.  Once you see those three layers, cover the entire dish with tin foil.  And put in the oven for approximately 1 hour.  When my mom makes this dish, she only keeps it in for about 30 minutes.  I’m not sure if it really makes a difference, but my original recipe says “Bake for 1 hour.”  So I bake for 1 hour.

Remove from the oven and enjoy!  I love to serve it with garlic bread & a Caesar salad.  I’m so Italian.  Clearly.

Baked Spaghetti Recipe

  • 8 oz sour cream
  • 8 oz cottage cheese
  • 1 jar Ragu spaghetti sauce
  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 8 oz spaghetti noodles
  • lots of cheese (I say lots because I “measure” by however much cheese it takes to solidly cover the entire dish)
4 thoughts on “Beef Month: Baked Spaghetti Dish

  1. Pingback: Simple Sides – Sour Cream and Chive Noodles « My Spanish Translator

  2. Christina

    Hi Bri,

    As we speak my baked spaghetti is in the oven…..we’ll see. Thanks for the cooking inspiration!!!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Baked Penne Pasta with Italian Sausage | From Heels to Boots

Respond to this Post

