Birthday Hike

This past Saturday was my birthday.  I told Phil that I wanted to go on a sunrise hike for my birthday, so off we went.  And although we didn’t really see the sun rise because our view was blocked by mountains, we were surrounded by God’s beautiful artwork the entire morning.  Something about the mountains just makes God feel so real to me.  I feel like I’m being enveloped by his big arms & I am given a glimpse at just how awesome the God that I serve is.

A Glimpse of the Sunrise

I would like to question what purpose God had in mind when he created ticks.  Phil found a tick digging itself into his neck during our hike.  When I got home, I realized that I too, had a tick friend on my left hip.  I called Phil to come help me remove the icky thing & he said he found even MORE ticks on himself.  Gross.  No worries though, we are both tick-free.  I was having tick hallucinations for a few hours afterward though…every little round, dark circle that I saw was a tick…but not really.  :-/

The hike we went on was 4-point-some miles one way.  It was a pretty good hike.  I’d even venture to say that it was a bit “strenuous” for myself.  I’m not the most in shape person though, so don’t listen to me.  It was so fun!  I’m just super sore now 🙂  Once we had reached our destination of Marble Falls, we turned around & headed back the way we came.  During our hike back, I realized that I had been looking down at the ground immediately in front of me for a long time.  Which, wasn’t necessarily a bad thing because I didn’t want to trip on an unexpected rock and fall flat on my face!  But the amount of time I spent staring at the ground, focused on getting back to the car gave me insight into how I’ve been doing life lately.

Marble Falls in the distance (lower-left corner)

Lately, I’ve just been focusing on my immediate to-do lists with the goal of making it to the wedding.  I’ll dare to say that that’s a big part, if not all, that I’ve been focused on lately.  I’m focused so much on making it to the wedding that I’m missing out on the wonderful things that this stage in my life has to offer.  I’m missing out on the little blessings that God puts in front of me each and every day.

And as I felt God gently remind me to stop and admire his beautiful creation in the mountains, and quit focusing so much on the dirt in front of me…I also felt Him remind me to treat my life the same way: to take time to relish in the places that God puts me in, with the people who He puts me with, for the purpose that He has for me during such a time as this.

One thought on “Birthday Hike

  1. Pingback: Perspective « It Just Dawned On Me

Respond to this Post

