Eat Beef. Be Healthy.

Some of my family members & I are doing a “Biggest Loser” competition amongst ourselves.  It’s not like any of us have a great deal of weight to lose…it’s mostly us trying to be more conscious of working out, eating healthy & eating smaller portions.  We’re trying to get in fab wedding shape, is what we’re trying to do!

We started the competition this past week & so lately I’ve been googling “healthy dinner recipes.”  Well, to my great disappointment, at least 85% of the results that I received were meatless.  This frustrated (and continues to frustrate) me because it gives this false illusion that meat is bad for you.  Since when?!  So then I had to result to searching for “healthy meat recipes.”  You want to guess what 75% of those recipes were?  Fish.  And about 20% of the healthy meat recipes were chicken.

Can I ask a question for a minute?  Where’s the beef?

People, don’t get me wrong.  I love chicken.  I’m working on loving seafood (Phil l.o.v.e.s seafood.), but really…when did our society decide that beef was unhealthy for you?  Have we forgotten that beef provides some really essential nutrients that our bodies need?  Apparently someone did, and they started a nasty rumor that’s spread to the Google search engine results.

Last night, since I really didn’t find any great “healthy” beef recipes via Google, I resorted to my favorite meal: steak & potatoes.  I grilled steaks last night, and I cut my piece in half, so I ended up eating about a 3 oz serving of steak.  I baked some potatoes in the oven & grilled some zucchini to go with the steak.  I’m pretty sure the unhealthiest part of my meal last night was the tablespoon of sour cream I put on my baked potato!  That’s personal preference though.  I’d rather eat a whole plate of broccoli than have to eat my baked potato without sour cream.  And I really, really don’t like broccoli. 

I had 1/2 that amount of steak & only 1/2 of my baked potato. I was too full to eat any more than that! And yes, I do have an obsession with sour cream. Thanks for noticing.

My 3 oz steak contained contained less than 200 calories and it held more than 10% of my daily value of nutrients such as Protein, Iron, Vitamin B12 & Zinc.  Hello!  Since when is something that provides 38% of my daily value of Iron called “unhealthy?”  Compared to all other foods, beef is the number one source of Zinc, Protein & Vitamin B12!

Granted, if you eat a huge steak, pile your baked potato high with chili beans, butter, sour cream, bacon & the works…and then you choose to have a slice of bread instead of a salad or some grilled veggies, then obviously your meal with lose some of its healthy value.  But don’t blame the beef…blame yourself!  Eat salad!  Don’t put so many calorie-laden toppings on your baked potato!  Beef – and any other meat for that matter can be healthy if you allow it to be.

So the next time you’re wondering what kind of healthy, meaty meal you can make for dinner, just remember:  Beef, It’s What’s For Dinner.

For more information on the nutritional value of beef, and for some healthy beef recipe ideas, check out these websites:

Beef Bytes

Beef Nutrition

What Science Says About Beef’s Naturally Nutrient-Rich Package

Beef, It’s What’s For Dinner

 

 

One thought on “Eat Beef. Be Healthy.

Respond to this Post

