Wedding Wednesday: Organization

I’d call myself an “organized” person. I like to know exactly what the plan is, when it’s happening and where it’s going down. If I don’t know details of an event, I get a bit antsy. So, before I got engaged, before I ever planned who would be my bridesmaids or the colors of a wedding, I knew that someday when I actually was a bride, I wanted to be an organized bride.

Now that I’m a bride-to-be and planning a wedding, I’m trying very hard to follow through with being organized. My favorite organization tool for the bride is a “Wedding Planner.” Not a wedding planner like Jennifer Lopez, but a wedding planner like a pocket planner. A friend of mine referred me to a wedding planner which could be purchased at Michael’s Arts & Crafts store. It’s a big binder filled with helpful tabs, the most helpful (in my opinion) being the “Calendar,” which gives you a list of things that you need to do when you’re 9-12 months away from the wedding, 6-9 months away, 4-6 months…etc. I love having lists to check off, so that explains why the calendar is my favorite! Anyway, you can buy a wedding planner of some sort from most craft stores, online, or you can even find free tools on websites such as “The Knot.”

My second way of trying to be organized is making sure that I stay in touch with my girls. And by “my girls,” I mean my bridesmaids. If I was a bridesmaid, I would want to know what was going on. What I was going to wear, when I needed to get my outfit, details for the wedding, details for other events surrounding the wedding…everything! It’s possible that my bridesmaids could care less about these details, but I’m just trying to be safe! And, I’m hoping that the more organized I am at this point in the ball game, the smoother the actual wedding day will go (fingers crossed!).

So, in an attempt to keep my bridesmaids in the loop, I created something called, “Bri’s Bridesmaids.” I like newsletters and I like alliteration, so it seemed right to create “Bri’s Bridesmaids.” In my first issue, I introduced my bridesmaids knowing that they didn’t all know each other. I also have a little corner for “Style Watch” where I keep them in the loop on their wedding day apparel. It’s kind of silly, but I get to fulfill my desire to create newsletters and they get to know what’s going on at all times! Seems like a win-win to me. ๐Ÿ™‚

Have you planned a wedding? What ways did you try to stay organized throughout the whole wedding planning process? I’d love to hear your ideas!

2nd Issue of Bri's Bridesmaids includes a brief overview of events surrounding the wedding. The "Style Watch" focuses on the shoe aspect of the bridesmaids' wedding day attire.

3 thoughts on “Wedding Wednesday: Organization

  1. Kasey Galbraith

    Oh, Bri- we DO care about your newsletter, and I LOVE that you’re so organized! ๐Ÿ™‚ I totally used a wedding planning book like that too- it was BIG and light blue, and I loved it! Also, I’m thinking that years down the road it will be so fun to look back at it and see everything that I wrote down and things that I saved from the planning process! Loving the Wedding Wednesdays posts…. such a fun way to share what you’re going through. Love you friend!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Welcome to Visalia Wedding Style | Visalia Wedding Style

Respond to this Post

