The Difference Between PETA & I

I’m just going to come clean with it right away…

I’m an animal lover.  I have two dogs.  One of them we bought, the second my brother rescued from a parking lot when she was just 5 weeks old.  They are both pretty ugly, and they’re not necessarily the sweetest dogs you’ve ever met, but they are my puppies and I love them.  Diego, a chihuahua-mix, is the eldest of the two & we have had him for about 6 years.  Dixie is my baby and we have no idea what she

Cuddle time with Dixie & Diego

is.  She definitely has Dachshund or Wiener dog in her because she has a hilariously long body & a long nose, but she has pretty tall legs also, which tells us that she is a mix of some sort.  Dixie is the dog that we rescued about 8 months ago.  Both dogs are “inside” dogs.  Diego has a special dog bed & Dixie sleeps in my bed with me.  She’s even started to sleep with her head on a pillow and her body under the covers, just like a human.  They get fed twice a day, are given baths, receive regular check-ups and vaccinations at the vet & on occasion, I’ll slip food from my plate under the table to them.

The large majority of you probably read that last paragraph & felt kind of disgusted.  Especially when you read the part that Dixie sleeps like a human…in my bed.  And others of you, I’m sure, shook your head when you saw that I feed the dogs at the table.  I shared all of that detail though because I want you all to understand how much I love animals.  Someday I’d like to live in the country and have cows, horses, chickens, dogs, cats, pigs, goats, you name it…I probably want it.  I just love animals.

Now, there’s another group of people who have claimed to love animals, and you may have heard of them: People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals, also known as PETA.  Sound familiar?  PETA is the largest animal rights organization in the world with over 3 million supporters.

I’d like you to take note that PETA is an animal rights organization.  There is a difference between people who are for animal rights and people who are for animal welfare.  To help clarify the difference between the two terminologies, here’s a quick overview of “animal welfare” and “animal rights” found on the North Carolina Responsible Animal Owners Alliance webpage (www.ncraoa.com)

“Animal Welfare supports humane treatment and use of animals and believes that humans have a responsibility for their care. Animal Welfare includes responsible care of animals used by humans for service, research, food, education, those kept in zoos or sanctuaries, and especially those animals kept by pet owners. Animal welfare is based on a principle of ownership of animals, a common sense approach that animals should be treated well and that animal cruelty is wrong. Animal welfare sets standards and guidelines for animal use and management based on sound veterinary and animal husbandry research and practices.

Animal Rights (AR) is a radical ideology that attempts to elevate species of animals to equality with humans by applying human interpretations of morality. A core tenet of animal rights philosophy is that no species on this planet is better than another; therefore, humans have no right to dominate over, use, breed, or eat nonhuman species.”

I fall into the first ideology of supporting animal welfare.  I truly believe that God has entrusted humans with the responsibility of taking care of the earth and of the life that is on this earth.  I also believe that humans and animals are not made equal.  Consider this following passage from the Bible found in Genesis 1:26-28:

 26-28 God spoke: “Let us make human beings in our image, make them
      reflecting our nature
   So they can be responsible for the fish in the sea,
      the birds in the air, the cattle,
   And, yes, Earth itself,
      and every animal that moves on the face of Earth.”
   God created human beings;
      he created them godlike,
   Reflecting God’s nature.
      He created them male and female.
   God blessed them:
      “Prosper! Reproduce! Fill Earth! Take charge!
   Be responsible for fish in the sea and birds in the air,
      for every living thing that moves on the face of Earth.”

It's tough being a dog in our household...you have to relax by the warm fireplace and stuff...

In regards to our cattle that we raise, I respect them.  I am thankful for the food that they supply for me & my family to eat.  We feed them nutritious food, provide them with good, clean land to keep them comfortable, and we have doctors who check the cattle daily to make sure that they are healthy and happy.  In regards to my dogs, they are family pets.  I love them and respect them.  To me, my dogs are not food.  They are companions, but they are not equal to my family members.   None the less, I love them.

So, I would think that someone who was for animal rights would love animals even MORE than I do and take even BETTER care of animals than I do.  People like that take animal welfare to an even higher level, which is why the news story that I heard yesterday definitely threw me off a bit.  In a report released by the Center for Consumer Freedom (CCF), more than 95% of the animals in PETA’S care were killed in 2011.

To give you some food for thought, PETA has an annual budget of $37 million dollars.  Millions of people contribute money to this organization with the trust that their dollars will be going to the care and benefit of the animals that groups like PETA supposedly respect and love so much.  With that much money, I’m thinking that a whole lot of animals could be saved.  Instead, in 2011, CCF reports that 1,911 cats and dogs were killed last year by PETA and only 24 pets were given homes.  Perhaps PETA should consider renaming their organization, because there is nothing “ethical” about the way that they are treating the animals that they kill every year.  But I guess that’s the difference between PETA & I.  I would do everything in my power to keep those dogs & cats alive and to find them loving homes.  If you ask me, pets are good for the soul.

So what I would like to know is if those millions of dollars are not being put to use to save animals, then what exactly are they being put toward?  I’m willing to bet that most of that money is being put toward false propaganda and media which gives viewers false mindsets of agriculture and false expectations of where their donation dollars will be going.

Maybe you think I’m crazy for being upset at the news that supposed animal lovers are murdering over a thousand animals a year in their own slaughterhouses, but for people who preach so heavily on the well-being of animals, it sure doesn’t seem like they are practicing them much.  What do you think about this news?  Do you think that it is okay for animals to be killed instead of attempting to find homes for them?   I don’t.  With that many dollar bills floating around, I’d think that PETA would be able to find a few more homes for abandoned pets than just 24.

You may take what I said with a grain of sand, but I hope that after hearing about the deception that PETA dishes out, you would think about Dixie’s sweet puppy eyes which are practically begging you to remember that PETA doesn’t treat dogs like her with as much care as they claim to.

Can you resist sweet puppy eyes like these? I can't! I'm a sucker for Dixie girl.

3 thoughts on “The Difference Between PETA & I

  1. G Miller

    I’m with you!! PETA uses our tax dollars and doesn’t provide the love needed for these animals. I’ve been an animal lover all my life. They are God’s creatures and they can give us so much joy! We were supposed to take care of our animals on this earth. Sometimes we definitely don’t do a good job of it. But, whatever we can do to return the love to them is our thank you to them for filling our hearts with the joy they give to us. Feel free to LIKE my Facebook Page: Paws-itive Blessings

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Of Animals, PETA And What Would Make God Happier « The Neosecularist

  3. Pingback: “Hey Girl” | From Heels to Boots

Respond to this Post

