Help! I Need Somebody! (Preferably a Dairy Farmer)

Dairy Love

I’m calling in the help of my friends in the dairy industry.  I’m in the process of trying to write a children’s book about dairy-farming.  I’m not quite sure what age group I’ll be writing to yet, but probably a younger crowd.  Maybe somewhere around Kindergarten-3rd grade level.  I’m still new to the logistics of the dairy industry, but I’m quite passionate about seeing children, and people in general, have the opportunity to learn more about where their food comes from.  I want to make sure that I’m doing the dairy industry justice through this story that I tell.  With that said, I would love it if you could answer the following questions in a way that young children could understand.  You can either comment on this post with your answers, or you may email your answers to me at briana@grimmiuscattle.com.

Thank you so much for your willingness to help!  Feel free to pass these questions on to any of your fellow dairy farmer friends.  I would love as much input as I can get!

  1.  What is a dairy farm?
  2. How would you describe the process of milk?  From start to finish…the cow gives birth to a calf, and then what?  How often are cows milked?
  3. How would you describe your milk barn?  What type of parlor do you use?
  4. What does your dairy do to ensure that your heifers and cows are comfortable?  In summer?  In winter?
  5. What does your dairy do to ensure that the milk used for human consumption is safe and healthy?
  6. Is there anything you want young children to know about the dairy industry?  Any fun facts?  Common misconceptions?
Respond to this Post

