A Confession & A Lesson

I have a confession.  I went out to dinner last night & didn’t cook at home.  And I haven’t worked out yet today.  Ah!  I’m so guilty right now!  Good news though: I can redeem myself by working out when I get home from work this evening and by cooking a meal one night this weekend.  I think I’ll do that!

Because I don’t have a meal to post today, I’ll teach the men a little lesson about  what not to say to the ladies.  Ladies, I have a feeling you’ll be nodding your head while reading this tip.  To lead into this lesson I am going to share a story with you.  It happened last week while I was working outside at the calf ranch.  Now, important side story: I’m supposed to leave my house every morning for the calf ranch at 7:00 am.  Well, last Thursday I woke up at 6:45 am.  Yes, that gave me 15 minutes until leave time.  THEN, my sweet boyfriend called me all of the way from Kenya at 6:50 am…so of course I answered, and we talked for 10 minutes.  By the time I pressed “End” on my phone it was leave time.  Did I have time to put makeup on?  Nope…of course not!  But I figured, I work at a ranch…it’ll be fine if I go without.

So, fast forward to 8:30 am of that same morning.  I was working outside at the ranch with a couple of guys and some cattle.  We had a little break time in work and my friend Juan looked at me and said, “Que paso?”  (What’s up?)  I looked at him and said “Con que?  Los becerros?”  (With what?  The cattle?)  He replied, “No, sus ojos.  Maquillarje.”  (No.  Your eyes.)  I had to think about the m-word though.  I was trying to think really hard back to my days of Spanish class and suddenly, it clicked, “maquillarje” is the Spanish word for makeup!  I looked at Juan and told him the whole side story that I just shared with you.  About waking up late and then talking to my boyfriend on the phone and not having time to put makeup on.  (Us girls really have it tough, you know…makeup.)

Five minutes later, my friend Carlos came over to me and said, “Briána, no makeup today?”  So then I had to explain to Carlos my entire story.

Men, if you’re wondering what my point to this story is, it’s this:  Don’t comment on lack of makeup on a female.  If they look sleepy or sick or sad to you…there’s a good chance that they just don’t have paint on their faces.  I can’t tell you how many times boys in high school and college would make comments to my friends and I when we didn’t have makeup on.  It drove us nuts.  Unless you’re going to tell a woman a positive comment on her appearance, maybe just don’t say anything.  Unless she has food in her teeth, or toilet paper on her shoe…those are good ones for us to know about.

Me:  confession made.  You:  lesson learned.

Now excuse me, I need to go decide whether I’m making cod-fish or chicken stir fry for dinner tonight.  Any suggestions?

2 thoughts on “A Confession & A Lesson

  1. Mayene Design

    *I happened upon this blog browsing WordPress’s freshly pressed blogs. : )

    I realized that these kinds of instances happened when people got TOO used to me wearing makeup that was far from natural. There are little things you can do to prevent this from happening in your daily life (around people that see you regularly). For a little bit, I went a couple months without makeup — besides foundation and the occasional black eyeliner. I learned that by doing this, the days I DID wake up earlier to put on more makeup (blend the eyeshadow, care about my eyeliner shape, use mascara, put blush, apply a lip tint, or what have you), I receive more compliments because people are used to seeing me “normally” without much makeup.

    I also switched from a solid black to a dark brown eyeliner to make my daily look more on the natural side and use eyeshadows closer to my skintone on “regular” days.

    I like to think that when someone comments on your (lack of) makeup, it might be a good idea to step back and re-assess your daily makeup routine — it should be more or less natural. But I do agree that guys need not comment like that. 😉

    Reply
    1. fromheelstoboots Post author

      I totally agree with your theory! The funny thing is, I usually only wear foundation & curl my eyelashes when I come to work…because I work outside so I don’t put makeup on as if I were going out on the town! Oh well…(sighs) 🙂
      Thanks for reading!

      Reply

Respond to this Post

