30 Days on Cheese: Baked Ziti Dish

Baked Ziti...er...Mezze Penne

Well, I’d be lying if I told you it was easy to get out of bed this morning for my 5:15 am workout.  It was so much cozier in my bed than outside of its warm covers.  I did it though.  I got out of bed, put on my workout clothes & turned on my “Jillian Michaels: 30 Day Shred” workout DVD.  I tend to gravitate toward that workout more because I have done that DVD for quite a while.  For me personally, half of the battle with tough workouts is the mental battle.  When I do a workout DVD that I’ve never done before, I think it’s so much more difficult because I don’t know what to expect.  Which is why I love “30 Day Shred.”  I’ve done that workout so many times that I can quote almost every word that Jillian Michaels says in those 20 minutes of shredding.  The moves are still difficult, but my mental battle is won because I know exactly what will the workout entails.

Last night, with the help of my mom, I made the Baked Ziti recipe.  We used Mezze Penne as the pasta instead of Ziti because oddly enough, my local supermarket does not carry Ziti noodles.  It was an incredibly easy recipe to make, requiring only about 20 minutes of prep time and then 20 minutes of bake time.  I do need to warn you, if you were planning on trying that recipe, maybe you should invite company over on the night you cook it.  There were 5 of us eating the dish and we had over half of the pan left.  It makes a GINORMOUS pan of pasta.  We figured that it could at least feed 10 people.  Or, if you’re like my family, just eat the leftovers for a few days.  Thankfully, everyone requested leftovers for their lunches today (that’s when you know it’s a good recipe!).

There was plenty of cheese involved in that dish.  But remember, I can’t say this enough…it’s all about moderation.  I ate my meal quickly last night, so I was feeling like I could eat a second plate of food, but instead, I decided to wait a few minutes.  And wait, I did.  After a few minutes, my food had a chance to settle a bit better and I realized that I really wasn’t hungry anymore.  Moments of self-control are never bad to have.  🙂

Pardon the plastic plate...Mezze Penne & Caesar Salad

What’s on your dinner menu for tonight?  I’d love to hear about it!

2 thoughts on “30 Days on Cheese: Baked Ziti Dish

  1. thingsmybellylikes

    I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – cheese makes everything better. It also makes me hungry and I’m still hours from dinner. Boo.
    I’m another early morning Jillian Michaels workout fan. She kicks my (rapidly-getting-more-toned) butt 🙂

    Reply

Respond to this Post

