Chicken Enchiladas – My Heritage

So here’s a fun fact about me: I’m 1/2 Mexican, 1/2 Dutch.  My friends kindly dubbed me the “Dutchican” when I was in high school.  If you’re around me long enough, you’ll learn quickly that I get asked quite often, “What ethnicity are you?” or for those trying to be more discreet, “What’s your last name?”  Apparently my appearance throws people off & they can’t help but wonder what I am!  I’m perfectly fine with that though – I enjoy confusing people.  So consider yourself special that you don’t even have to ask where my ancestors came from!  That being said, I’m going to share a little piece of my heritage with you tonight.  Half of it, to be exact.  Chicken enchiladas.  If we’re being technical though, you’re getting my complete heritage because I got the recipe from a Dutch person…  Are you still following?  Ok good.

So, I decided to make these in honor of my boyfriend.  He’s in Kenya on a missions trip at present & he’s the one who introduced me to the recipe.  I think it’s the night that my crush on him began.  But that’s another story for another day.  Onward…  Now, I like these because these are very simple to make.  If we were making my Grandma Flores’ enchilada recipe…not simple.  So delicious, but not simple.  Give me simple, please.

Ingredients

  • Cream cheese
  • Tortillas (I use flour for this recipe)
  • Shredded chicken or beef
  • Cheese (lots of cheese)
  • Enchilada sauce (Green or red.  I prefer red…it’s my favorite color.)
You’ll Need
  • A 9×13 pan
  • To pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees

 

First step:  shred the chicken.  Previously, I’ve bought those pre-cooked whole chickens from the grocery store-I’m not sure if your local market offers that, but it’s pretty glorious.  Anyway, I’ve just bought those and shredded the meat off of that.  This time, I put chicken in the crock pot and sprinkled a little seasoning on top.  When I got home from work, all I had to do was shred the meat…EASY!

Carnivores, unite!

Now that your chicken is ready to be placed in a home, grab your tortillas and cream cheese.  Now, I know this sounds bizarre, but hang with me.  You’re going to be spreading a thing layer of cream cheese over the entire tortilla.  If you’re anything like me and you LOVE cream cheese, then sometimes you might find that your love takes over your hand with the spreading knife in it and before you know it…there’s a rather thick layer of cream cheese.  That’s okay, too.  Try to control yourself though…  Just try.  For me?

Can you feel the love? I can.

Now, the next two steps are so simple that I can hardly stand it.  Once you’ve got your tortilla all cheesed up, you’ll put chicken down the middle (or beef, or cheese, whatever your little heart desires) and follow that with covering your heart’s desire in cheese.

Simple Step #1

Simple Step #2

Then you’ll roll those little beauties up… Yup, just roll it.  Don’t fold it.  Roll it.

All cozy in the pan...

They look a little naked though, don’t they?  We’ll cover them up.  Open up your can of enchilada sauce.  Yes, you could make your own sauce, but I’m too simple for that.  Or maybe the right word is lazy… No, no, it’s “simple.”  I’m sure of it.  Open that can of sauce up and let it rain on your enchiladas…

"Let it rain on your enchiladas..." Did anybody else start thinking of all of the songs that they knew with the word "rain" in them when they read that line? Ok, just me, never mind...

Sprinkle with cheese.  Just a suggestion, I strongly encourage you to support the dairy industry when you put cheese on your enchiladas.   (That’s code for…use a lot of cheese!)

 

Stick that pan into the heated oven for about 20-25 minutes (assuming that the chicken is already warm).  If the chicken isn’t warm, I’d go 40 minutes-ish.  I’m so helpful, I know.

Make sure that cheese is nice & melted!

Hello!  You feel more Mexican already, don’t you?  I am thankful for my Mexican ethnicity because among many other awesome things about Mexicanos…we have awesome food.  Just sayin’.

Delicioso!

Serve it up with whatever you’d like.  I chose Spanish rice & refried beans (there’s cheese in the beans…always).  The little salad on the side is for you guys.  I never put salad on the side of my plate.  Mexican restaurants always do though.  I got my inspiration from them.

Happy cooking, amigos!

 

3 thoughts on “Chicken Enchiladas – My Heritage

  1. Pingback: Chicken (or Turkey) Enchiladas « Frugal Hausfrau's Blog

Respond to this Post

