Time Spent With Grandpa

I spent the last day and a half at Stanford Medical Center with my family (minus one brother) and my grandpa and grandma.  I’m sure most of you know by now, but Grandpa was diagnosed with a form of Acute Leukemia the Tuesday before Thanksgiving.  It hasn’t been an easy road, but for those of you who know my grandparents, you know that they have a faith in the Lord that is strong.

About a week ago, the chemotherapy treatments that Grandpa was undergoing were making him pretty sick.  Grandpa felt a bit better today and yesterday, I believe.  And if he still felt crummy, he was doing a really good job of hiding it.  He’s scheduled to be at Stanford for a couple more weeks and then he gets to come home to continue chemo treatments here.

Today, as we sat in Grandpa’s hospital room, we got to talking about Bible passages that talk about “salt.”  Now, that’s a different story in itself, but as we were discussing the significance of salt in the Bible, Grandpa mentioned a Proverb that he really liked.  He read it & then he proceeded to read a few more of his favorite Proverbs.  I didn’t really think much of the Proverbs as he was reading them, but as we were driving back home from Palo Alto, I began replaying the time spent with Grandma & Grandpa and I remembered Gramps mentioning his Proverbs, specifically.  I would call my Grandpa “soft-spoken.”  He has a kind heart & I can’t remember the last time I heard him raise his voice.  He’s the type of person where people really listen when he speaks because we know that it’s going to be something good!

The Proverbs were written by Solomon.  Solomon is known for being a very wise man in the Bible.  In the second verse of Proverbs, Solomon states that one of the purposes of Proverbs is for “gaining wisdom and instruction.”  I think that knowing wisdom can also be paralleled to “knowing the fear of the Lord.”  When I think of my grandpa, I think of a man who fears the Lord – a man who is wise in how he leads his family, lives his life & handles his business.  So, as I looked back on my time spent with Grandpa today, I couldn’t help but smile.  A man who reads the Proverbs is a man whom I consider to be very wise.  Go figure!  🙂

I’ll list a few Proverbs below, but I will give you all a quick prayer request.  Chemo was able to bring his White Blood Cell (WBC) count really low, but now they are trying to bring it back up to the “normal” count.  The prayer request is that his body will continue to respond to the chemo by not having his WBC count soar to an out of control high number as the doctors work to bring it back up to normal.

We appreciate your prayers.  We can certainly feel the peace and strength that only God provides in these uncertain, faith-testing times.  If you would like more frequent updates (my grandma updates a few times a week) on my grandpa, become a member of carepages.com and search for “TomGrimmius.”

5 Trust in the LORD with all your heart
   and lean not on your own understanding;
6 in all your ways submit to him,
   and he will make your paths straight.  -Proverbs 3:5-6

1 A gentle answer turns away wrath,
   but a harsh word stirs up anger.  -Proverbs 15:1

9 In their hearts humans plan their course,
   but the LORD establishes their steps.  -Proverbs 16:9

18 Pride goes before destruction,
   a haughty spirit before a fall.  -Proverbs 16:18

10 If you falter in a time of trouble,
   how small is your strength!  -Proverbs 24:10

5 thoughts on “Time Spent With Grandpa

  1. Pingback: The Wise in Heart Accepts Commands « Walk with Jesus

  2. eudoranachand

    Greetings, I liked what you said about: “A man who reads the Proverbs is a man whom I consider to be very wise.”

    I am also agreeing with your prayer that your grampa’s body will continue to respond to the chemo by not having his WBC count soar to an out of control high number as the doctors work to bring it back up to normal and for a speedy recovery to wholeness in the name of Jesus; may it be so.
    ~ Amen

    Reply
  3. Pingback: An Offering of thought from Proverbs 31:6-7 | Eudoranachand's Blog

  4. Pingback: 120120–George Hach’s Journal–Friday | George Hach's Blog

  5. Pingback: Submit You Ways to the Lord « Life of a Sinner

Respond to this Post

