Thankful Part Two: “Share Time”

Yesterday I mentioned a little somethin’-somethin’ called “Share Time.”  I have a bit of a love-hate relationship with “Share Time.”  It’s one of those traditions where it wouldn’t feel like Thanksgiving if we didn’t do it, but at the same time, I kind of wish that “Share Time” would just disappear.

I guess you’re probably wanting to know what “Share Time” is, exactly.  I think that a lot of people do this during their Thanksgiving celebrations.  It’s basically, where everyone says what they’re thankful for.  Sounds easy, huh?  The concept is easy, but life…life is not easy.  So there’s our problem.  There’s 40-50 people at Thanksgiving Dinner and we all have faced different trials & hardships, which tend to have some sort of impact on what we’re thankful for.  So, in a sense, it turns into a bit of a “testimony” of what the Lord has done for us in our lives in the past year.  So, let’s put this together: Public Speaking (40-50 people, yeah, that’s mini public speaking) + Past Trials + An Overwhelming Sense of Thankfulness = LOTS OF TISSUE BOXES ARE NEEDED.  Yes, I’ve also nicknamed “Share Time” as the “Cry Fest” because everyone ends up crying.  And I don’t like crying.  Do you see the love and the hate that I’m feeling for “Share Time?”

I started to write poems for the occasion of “Share Time,” just so I could read and be done.  I was no less thankful, mind you.  I was just able to look at my paper while I shared instead of looking at my dad or mom tear up as I said I was thankful for them.  🙂  I haven’t done a poem in a while though.  I’m not sure if I’ll do a poem this year, but I am going to put together a little collection of things that I’m thankful for.  Right here, right now & just for you!  In no particular order…

1.  Family.  I can’t give enough thanks for my family.  For my brothers, for my parents, for my grandparents, aunts, uncles and cousins.  For the fun times in Hawaii, for the funny voices we talk in to each other, for the concern and input on eachother’s boyfriends & girlfriends, for the fact that we all enjoy each other’s company.  For the sing-along time with Austin (brother) as he plays his guitar & for the sing-along/dance parties in the car with Caleb & Noah (more brothers).  For the Starbucks “treat” runs with mom and the sports games with dad.  I could go on and on, but I’ll spare you 🙂

2.  My Job.  When I decided to accept my uncle’s offer to work at the calf ranch in June, I wasn’t sure that this is what I wanted.  I was reluctant to leave Fresno & just wasn’t sold on the whole “calf ranch” thing at all.  Almost 5 months later, here I am, and I love my job.  I’m thankful to be able to work with my family and with our adopted family of workers.  I’m thankful for the laughs that I laugh whether I’m outside on the ranch or inside the ranch office.  I’m also thankful that it’s provided me a deeper insight to where my food comes from.  Because food is a HUGE thing to be thankful for. (Stay tuned for Food Thanks, coming tomorrow!)

3.  Dixie.  Sorry, I had to.  I love my dog.  I’m thankful for when I walk in the door and she cries because she’s so happy to see me, or when she stands against my leg wanting me to just give her a hug.  I’m thankful that she’s the sweetest dog ever.  Minus when she grabs kleenex from the trash can and tears it to pieces all over the floor, or jumps 3 feet onto the kitchen table because she thinks she smells human food…ok, she’s a handful.  What would I do without my Dixie Cup?!

4.  God.  His grace.  His mercy.  His unconditional love.  His perfect timing.  His peace.  His forgiveness.  His wisdom.  His faithfulness.  His strength.  His power.  His righteousness.  His perfection.

I’ll stop there.  I do think “Share Time” is a great thing because we all have so much to be thankful for and it’s important to acknowledge the blessings that we’ve been given.  Sometimes I just wish we wouldn’t need so many tissues 😉 What are you thankful for? 

 

One thought on “Thankful Part Two: “Share Time”

  1. Pingback: Things I’m Thankful For | From Heels to Boots

Respond to this Post

