Thankful Part 1: Tradition

This week is Thanksgiving.  So, surprise, this week, I’m going to dedicate my blog to talking about things that I am thankful for.  This post is merely going to be an introduction.  I want to tell you about my family’s Thanksgiving tradition because it’s something that I’m extremely thankful for.  I love it & I think everyone else who joins in on the Grimmius Family Thanksgiving Time loves it too, because quite frankly, we know how to party.  Without further ado, I present to you “Grimmius Family (and Friends) Thanksgiving Time!”

The tradition starts for us on Wednesday nights.  A lot of times, my grandma, mom, and aunts will get together on Wednesday at my grandma’s house for a “cooking and baking day.”  Since the ladies spend most of the day cooking, they don’t really feel like making dinner later that evening so the family usually does “Pizza Night” at a local pizza place on Wednesday night.  This includes grandparents, cousins, aunts, uncles, brothers, sisters…you get the idea. After that, sometimes the “bigs,” as the oldest of the cousins (I’m a “big!”)  are called, will go and see a movie, get ice cream, or do some fun activity together.

Then, Thanksgiving day arrives.  Whoever wants to, participates in our city’s 5K Turkey Trot.  I believe that this year, 21 of us are signed up to run.  My grandparents included!  (I guarantee you my grandma will beat me…by a long shot.  She’s real fast!)  After we finish running, we all go to our homes and bathe so that we can stand the smell of each other during Thanksgiving dinner.  As soon as we’re ready, we all head back to my grandparent’s house and just hang out!  We eat food, play football, play wiffleball, eat more food, talk, watch football, eat more food…etc.  Soon, it’s time for Thanksgiving dinner.  And so we eat even more.

Once everyone is finished eating, we have something called “Share Time.”  Now, remember “Share Time” because I’m going to share about it in tomorrow’s post.  Once we get through Share Time, (trust me, it’s something to get through), we put our shoes on and we all go BOWLING!  Yes, about 40 or so of us, go bowling.  So fun!  Once we’ve gotten our bowl on, we all go back to grandma’s house for dessert.  Because what is Thanksgiving without more food?!

Thanksgiving, as you have read, is a marathon of a day for my family.  I can’t even tell you how much fun it is.  Because of this tradition, Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday.  So many memories are made with my family during this time and I’m truly thankful for this tradition.  Does your family have any Thanksgiving traditions?

Stay tuned…tomorrow I’ll tell you about SHARE TIME.  Dun, dun, dunnnn… 🙂

Outside of the bowling alley. Ash & I dressed as indians for the occasion & Jared dressed as Charlie Brown.

 

Play football AND eating some turkey. Multitasking at its finest.

One thought on “Thankful Part 1: Tradition

  1. Pingback: Things I’m Thankful For | From Heels to Boots

Respond to this Post

