Fog

It’s been foggy here. Do you know what fog is? Do you know what Central Valley fog is? What about South Central Valley fog? Let’s just say that South Central Valley fog is no fun. Drivers of semi trucks who are accustomed to blizzards in their home states of Montana, Idaho & Wyoming think that the fog that we experience here in the South Valley is just awful. And it is. Some days it’s ok, but when it’s foggy, you can’t see nothin’.

Trip down memory lane: I was a senior in high school and I was babysitting for a family in Hanford. They live on a dairy out in the country, so the roads are always really clear and there’s not many things or places around them. Just country roads and open land. Well, it was foggy that night & the kids’ parents got home and told me, “It’s REALLY foggy right now. Do you want to follow us into town?” I’m pretty stubborn & I didn’t think I wanted to be helped. Plus, I didn’t want to make them drive 20 minutes back to town in the thick of the fog. So I was stubborn and said, “No thank you. I’ll be fine.”

As soon as I pulled out of their driveway, I knew I was in trouble. I couldn’t even see one line in front of me. I rolled down my driver-side window and the only way I could see the yellow line in the middle of the road was when I looked out my window as I rolled past each line. I drove for about 10 minutes…maybe. And then I pulled over on the side of the road and just started crying. I remember thinking that I was so dumb for not allowing them to drive me into town. I considered turning back, but that would do me no good. So I cried a little more and then I prayed. I prayed for a few minutes – just asking God for safety and to bring me home to my family in one piece. I said “Amen,” and continued home slowly in the fog.

If you’ve ever experienced a moment like that. Blizzard…fog…where you can’t see anything around you, it’s scary as hell. Real life “fog” can be the same way. No matter what stage someone is in, life throws a lot of things at you. And you can’t always see the destination. That can be just as scary as driving in bad weather.

For me, I’m in that stage of “Ok, I’m 22. Not dating anyone. Living at home. What’s next?” There’s always been a stereotype about life after college. A stereotype that you graduate, land a great job, get married, have 2.5 kids, grow old, be happy, etc. I’ve come to find out that that’s not how it pans out for everyone. Or maybe you are in high school, trying to figure out what college to go to. Or maybe you are 41, just got divorced and are wondering what’s next? We all have these ideal destinations in our minds of where our lives should be going, but God doesn’t necessarily have the same plans for us. However, we’re not always going to be able to see the road in front of us on the journey that God takes us on.

Sometimes I stress out about where my road of life is going to take me and it frustrates me because I had this plan in my mind that I’d have everything figured out by now. Maybe you feel the same way. But I know that if I need to pull over for a few minutes, slow down and just have a conversation with God, He’ll hear me. And He’ll guide me to each one of my destinations throughout life, one yellow line at a time. Just like He did on that foggy night during my senior year. He’ll do the same for you.

“In their hearts humans plan their course, but the LORD establishes their steps.” -Proverbs 16:9

4 thoughts on “Fog

  1. Katy

    I’m really glad you posted this, Bri. I’m getting closer and closer to Graduation and struggling more and more each day not to freak out that I have no job, no plan, nothing planned out yet.

    p.s. Hobby Lobby after school (for me) is over? 🙂

    Reply
    1. fromheelstoboots Post author

      I know how you feel. It was just a few months ago that I was really, REALLY freaking out about my plans. You remember though. 🙂 Just a few break downs in the office haha. It’ll all work out. I know it’s easy to say, but God’s big enough to take care of your plans and mine so we have no reason to worry! (Even though we can’t help, but worry sometimes.)

      p.s. YES!! Hobby Lobby would do us some good. And we still need to plan an Elephant Bar date with Bri & Steven!

      Reply
    1. Ginger Rogers

      Ah, Bri, 22 is still very young. You will find your destination and, in fact, there will be many destinations along the way. At times, it will seem like the “fog” is just too much but, just remember your own words and wisdom…stop, regroup, have a converstation with God, and then move on. I’ll add something else—learn from others and learn from your mistakes.
      I enjoy your blogs! I’ve worn both heels and boots over the years…learned a lot from both.
      Buenas serte!
      G

      Reply

Respond to this Post

