The Pioneer Woman Strikes Again

The Pioneer Woman hit my kitchen last night.  And also my waistline.  No matter, it’s worth every pound added to my body.

I was feeling sweet, so I checked out the “Desserts” section of  http://thepioneerwoman.com.  As I scrolled through all of the possible desserts I think I could be heard saying “Mmmm,” “Yum,” “OHHH!”   I think you get the picture, yes?  It could also be described as too-much-deliciousness-for-your-own-good.  Disclaimer:  If you’re seriously trying to lose weight, keep AWAY from the desserts section.  Actually, maybe you should avoid her “Cooking” section all together for a while.  But if you’re like me and this sounds familiar, “My jeans don’t fit!  I’m not eating for a year…did someone just say chocolate?” then Pioneer Woman away!

I decided to keep it simple last night, so I went to cookies.  My eyes came across the words, “Monster Cookies.”  Can I get a “yes, please!” from anyone?  You gonna likeeee these.  Ok here’s the link to the recipe:  http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2010/09/monster-cookies/  and let’s begin!

Really, these are glorified chocolate chip cookies.  I mean, they’ve got rice krispies, chocolate chips, oats, M & M’s and peanut butter chips in ’em!  How can you go wrong?  Oh, and if you’re a nut lover, the recipe calls for pecans.  But me no like nuts.  So my version is nut-less.

Yummy cookie dough (Pre-everything monstrous)

Rawrrr Cookie Monster

Such cute little monster cookies

Yum!!

I tasted 1…or 2.  Maybe even 2 and a half, but I had to.  I had to make absolutely sure that the Monster Cookies were delicious.  And they were.  Because I had 2 more today 🙂

One problem that I did face though, is my cookies almost always (unless my baking has been blessed that day) come out flat.  I want puffy cookies!  Any suggestions out there?  I’d be glad to hear them!

6 thoughts on “The Pioneer Woman Strikes Again

  1. Krista

    YUM! I love the pioneer woman!! I have the same problem with my cookies usually. I have heard that part of the reason cookies come out flat is due to the butter. I always microwave mine when, supposedly, it’s just supposed to be at room temp. Who knows!

    Reply
    1. fromheelstoboots Post author

      My mom said that about the butter yesterday, too! That’s two votes for butter so I’d better try that out next time. Because I ALWAYS microwave my butter!

      Reply
  2. Renee Dobelstein

    i think it is the butter too! I love butter, but try half butter half butter flavored crisco. You know I am a farm-girl at heart so it is sad to tell you to use something else. But the combination of the two keeps them tasting good and not getting flat!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Cooking With Pioneer Woman « A Patchwork Life

Respond to this Post

