Meaty Monday Meal

First of all, Happy Food Day!

And speaking of food, if you’re like me, then I know you’re a fan of meals that are quick and easy to make.  And if you’re also like me, then I know that you have a few certain dishes that you always make.  Let’s call them our “Signature Dishes,” shall we?  However simple or difficult they are to make, we all have those dishes that we always fall back on.  When I’m serving a large group of people it’s either chicken enchiladas, roast beef and veggies, baked spaghetti or cheeseburgers.  When I’m serving myself…well, it’s the same dishes and then I have leftovers for days!  But when people come over for dinner, they almost always know that they’ll be eating 1 of those 4 items.

So today I’m going to show you one of my quick, simple, easy, but delicious “Signature Dishes.”  Get ready for…CHEESEBURGERS!  You’re probably thinking that there’s nothing special about burgers and you’re right, but that’s the beauty of it.  We’re going for ease today, nothin’ fancy shmancy.  I’ve found that the thing that makes a cheeseburger so good is not only the savory beef, but the toppings that you put on it.  So I like to make sure I have ALL of the necessary toppings.  Let’s take a looksie, shall we?

Toppings!

Now, here we have guacamole, bacon, grilled onions, lettuce, tomatoes, mustard, mayo, ketchup, relish & thousand island.  To get all of the toppings ready took me maybe 5 minutes to put together.  I even homemade the guacamole.  But then I cheated and bought microwaveable bacon – you have to pick your battles, I guess.  I don’t fight uncooked bacon though.  I won’t do it.

We fired up the grill and threw those patties on.  Easy peasy.  Unless you live someplace other than California and it’s actually fall (or winter, by my standards) and you can’t really grill outside.  If that’s the case, I just broil my burgers in the oven.  Works just as well.

 

Burgers on the Grill

 

The grilling is probably the part of the meal that takes the longest, but all’s ya gotta do is let them babies sizzle.  They do all the work for ya!  Except flip themselves..obviously.  Some people season their burgers a ton, but we prefer to sprinkle on just a bit of Pappy’s seasoning and call it good!

So the burgers are grilling, right?  And me having a large sweet tooth thinks that I need something sweet…something a little 50’s diner-ish to go with my burgers.  Are you thinkin’ what I’m thinkin’?  SHAKE, rattle & roll?  Chocolate milkshakes.  We can support our dairy industry too, right?  RIGHT.

Pardon the heavy shadows and the visible extension cord...I'm no Pioneer Woman!

 

Chocolate MilkShake

1/2 cup crushed ice

3-4 scoops of vanilla or chocolate ice cream

2 Tablespoons Hershey’s chocolate syrup

1/2 cup-1 cup milk (depending on your desired thickness of shake)

Blend until there’s no more annoying little ice chips that can get stuck in your straw!  I hate it when that happens.  Especially with Starbucks Frappucino’s…just sayin’.

So so good. Or so so bad if you're lactose intolerant. But the "so so good" is good enough to cancel out the "so so bad." Again, you gotta pick your battles. I pick chocolate milkshakes.

Time needed to make the milkshakes: 5-10 minutes.  I say 10 minutes because if you’re like me, and need to work out more and really struggle with scooping frozen ice cream, it takes a little longer. 

By this time, the burgers are done and ready to be adorned with the tasty toppings.

Like this!

So we’ve got our milkshake and we’ve got our burgers…we need a couple more sides.  And since it’s Monday and Monday’s are long enough anyway and The Real Housewives of Beverly Hills comes on at 9, we’ll keep the sides simple and throw in some fresh grapes and some baked BBQ chips.

And there ya have it...delicious & simple. And meaty. 'Cause I'm a carnivore.

Do you have a favorite side dish that you love to pair with your burgers?  What about a topping?  Do you have an outrageous topping that you love to put on your burger, or a topping that you absolutely cannot eat a burger without?


 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Meaty Monday Meal

  1. Laura Brickey

    Hey miss! Great blog! We do Italian style burgers in The Brickey house, combine: extra lean ground beef, egg white, Italian seasoning, fresh basil, chopped onion and garlic. Serve on a toasted ciabatta roll, romain lettuce, deli mustard, and fresh thickly cut mozzerella. So yummy!!

    Reply
    1. fromheelstoboots Post author

      Thank you! I miss you!
      And those Italian style burger sound so tasty! I’m going to have to try those! And then I’ll write a blog post and dedicate it to you and Mr. B when I do 😉

      Reply

Respond to this Post

